Tags

, , ,

I often hear people talking about doing the right thing. Problem is when faced with doing the right thing, they will default to easy. There's a thousand excuses, but in the end it's often a case of deciding the cost is too high.

Since I've discovered that my greens from the farmers market are wilting a bit faster than my greens from the plastic grocery store bag, the plan for Wednesday was a trip to restock the greens pile. I shifted my budget accordingly and planned to head out around 3ish. I also needed to get some kitty litter, so I headed out to my local Petsmart to restock.

Now my Petsmart is like many around the country. They do pet adoption events. One of the groups they use is called Austin Pets Alive! This group has the goal of making Austin, Texas a no kill city. Now I've donated to them before. Usually they have a jar out front and I pop in a few dollars when I stop to play with the animals. This particular day was a dog adoption. One of the dogs quickly caught my attention. She was a pit bull puppy, around 8 months old. In typical pit fashion, Snuggle Bug was bouncing around and generally having a wonderful time. Everyone she saw was a play opportunity. Any dog walking by she wanted to go investigate. Total puppy and all personality.

Now I'm not a dog person, but I am an animal junkie. I confess, I fell head over heals. She was just a special puppy. Now I'm smart enough to know that I do not need a dog. More critically, I could see that Snugs would need a very experienced and firm owner to keep her in check. So you may all rest assured, I did not go home with a pit bull puppy. Part of being a responsible animal owner is knowing what your limits are.

The donation sign they had up was asking for money to help buy Snugs an Easy Walk Harness to, "help her learn to walk like a lady." Easy Walk harnesses are designed to go around the chest and keep dogs from pulling. Again, while Snugs was a great puppy, it was obvious she was going to need some work to be adopted. So I dropped a few dollars into the bucket, got my cat litter and went on my merry way.

The problem was, I didn't quite manage to leave Snugs behind. I spent most of the afternoon thinking about here. Now again, no dogs in Chez Clara. I have no dog owning experience, small apartment, and two cats. Odds are much higher that I'll end up with a new cat as opposed to a dog. That doesn't mean I didn't think about her. She'd all ready been returned once. The family who adopted her were letting their 12 year old train her. Needless to say, it didn't work so well.

Now the plan was grocery shopping in the afternoon. I kept thinking about that harness for Snugs. The right thing to do for me was clear. It would be returning to Petsmart and getting the harness for her. On the flip side, that would throw off my food budget. Now I wouldn't starve, but it would mean I'd have to shift to cheaper food source for the end of the week. Now there are good reasons to source food local. It's part of my attempt to make a small difference and it's proving to be fun.

But what makes a greater impact? There was no question at all.

So back to Petsmart it was. Snuggle Bug and the folks from Austin Pets Alive were still there. I walked in, picked out the harness and brought it out. Snugs wasn't overly keen on it to start with, but the handler was. She said it would make a huge impact on helping to get her properly leash trained.

For around $25, I've helped give an awesome dog another chance at finding a forever home. We forget sometimes that it's not always about sweeping, grand gestures. Small things do add up. So I've got to eat a few more beans and some sketchy greens this week rather than grass fed beef and fresh spinach. Tell me what makes a more profound impact to the world around me?

Doing the right thing isn't always the easiest path. End of the day it will allow you to leave the world a much better place then it was when the day started. I may go to my death bed lamenting my failure to always eat perfectly sourced food. I'm not so sure on that one. I will go to my death bed regretting times where I didn't do the right thing for someone in need. It doesn't matter if that someone has 2 legs or 4.

Someone is going to get an awesome puppy. I'm glad to be able to help send her along the way.

