Tags

, , , ,

I honestly can't recall where I picked this recipe up. It's fallen into my stable of favorites. It's simple, yet provides endless room to improvise. 

1 pound ground bison

2 cups cooked beans of your choosing. I prefer black

2 cups chopped tomatoes (keep the liquid)

1/4 cup cilantro

2 tbs natural peanut butter

lime juice to taste

salt to taste

chili powder to taste

 

Brown the meat, toss it in with the beans and tomatoes. Add in the peanut butter, stick the whole thing on low and simmer. Spice to your own taste. 

Today's confession, I ended up using chopped tomatoes from a can. I'm getting rid of some of the stuff in the pantry. The tomatoes shouldn't have been a problem. Until you get to the chemical preservative in the tomatoes. Just goes to show, we've got the random chemicals in the oddest places. 

