Tags

, , , , , ,

HDR stands for High Dynamic Range. It’s a photographic technique that involves combining multiple images to boost the visual range of an image. At the extreme ends of the spectrum, it can produce hypersaturated images that border on fantasy. It’s a technique I’ve been interested in for a long time.

As I get set for a trip to Europe, I’m researching HDR. Like many post production techniques, it requires that you understand when to use it. Not every image benefits from the technique. So I’ve been fiddling with some of the HDR software in my iPhone so I can better understand when it’s going to look best.

A few weeks back my friend Kerryn took this picture with her camera phone. I saw it in my twitter feed and started playing with different filters

20120818-121636.jpg

Original image, courtesy of Kerryn Woods. Interesting, but lacking in pop.

20120818-121655.jpg

Adjusted in Snapseed. Boosted contrast, and upped color saturation.

20120818-121712.jpg

Took the image from Snapseed and ran it through Dynamic Light. Now it’s getting where I like it. Notice the increased detail

20120818-121732.jpg

Final version, run through Instagram, with application of the Lux filter. Nice borderline surreal look, and the look I wanted.

Each image will appeal to different groups. What’s important is that the end result appeals to me as the artist. I love the freedom that my iPhone is giving me to experiment and see the world differently.

