Tags

, , , ,

I got up with a ton of energy today and it’s translated into a nice burst of productivity. I’ve always been one of those people who periodically needs to do a major clean out of stuff. As a kid the best way for me to clean my room was to dump everything into the middle of the floor, then put it away as I go. Every couple years that pattern repeats.

Over the past couple weeks I’ve been systematically dumping out all my books, moving them around, and then putting them back up. It’s part of a bigger effort to clear things out. When I lived in a small apartment in D.C., I’d make sure to throw something out every time I brought something new in. I’ve lost the habit since I moved.

Even when you have the habit of daily cleaning and straightening, you periodically need to do a major clean out. It’s easy to lose sight of how things creep into your life without realizing it. The only way to get a good grasp of the situation is by making a big adjustment.

When did you last take inventory of your books? Your home? Your life? What changes can you make today that will take you forward in a positive direction?

