Tags

, ,

I don’t want to react. I want to think. My news feed is flooded daily with hundreds of pieces of data. Each piece includes a plea to do something. I’m supposed to click back, sign the petition, agree whole heartedly, and if I don’t, the world apparently ends.

Reacting is easy. Channel moral outrage, click button, done. Did I actually accomplish anything? More important, was that problem I outraged about a problem that I helped make better? Do I know anything about the problem or am I just retweeting something I didn’t bother to read?

Heaven forbid I slow down, think a bit, and then decide to go do some research. Heaven forbid I take the time to make an informed decision. Suddenly I’m a horrible person because I point out that the article you’ve been retweeting isn’t actually about what you think it’s about. It’s a bad headline, or worse a horribly skewed piece that’s not worth the pixels it’s rendered with.

Who has time for thinking and reading?? React, react, react. Outrage, protest, and ban the evil person! Don’t stop and think. Don’t stop and question.

Just react.

