Tags

, , ,

Today is All Saints Day. Around the world, churches are bringing out their relics as a way to connect the faithful to these inspirational figures. The stories of the saints comfort and inspire those in need. Today I think of Saint Francis, patron of animals. I think of the kindness he inspires, and the idea that when you help God’s creatures it brings you closer to Him and it helps you make this world a better place. I type this with a small kitten purring on my shoulder. Without help, he wouldn’t be here. With my help, love, and compassion, this blind kitten will have a chance at a full and happy life. His presence and story inspires others. It brings comfort to a woman who lost a beloved companion. His story makes people smile. He makes me laugh.

My gift is helping injured animals heal. What I get back is so much more.

Blessed Saint Francis, pray for us.

20131101-181357.jpg

