Tags

,


The hippo song. Specifically, “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”. One of the great novelty songs ever. By the time you’re old enough to read this, hopefully the Hippo song prompts a goofy grin. Ideally, your mom yells at us both as we sing it together, top of our lungs, and terribly off key. It’s one of my favorite Christmas songs ever, and one of the few songs I’ll sing out loud. I expect that your mom will send more than a few eye rolls heavenwards as we try to prompt a reaction. Remind me to tell you about my Mom and Dog Jingle Bells one day. 

I adore this song because it’s so much about the things I love this time of year. It’s about believing in impossible things and never losing hope. You have to be able to believe in the impossible. Otherwise you can’t ever reach for big things in your life. 

Don’t be afraid to believe. Don’t be afraid to reach. Things won’t always work out. It can hurt an awful lot when it doesn’t. But that moment where that impossible thing happens- that’s magic. It’s so amazing, and so worth fighting for.  

So every Christmas, you and me are gonna clean out the garage, and get ready for hippo massages. Because I will always believe in the impossible. 

Besides, mom will love you for cleaning the garage. Trust me. 

–Love Aunt Clara

(PS- still waiting on that hippopotamus. Because only a hippopotamus will do.)